Fri, July 26, 2019

The Nominees for Sheldon College’s 2019 Arts Academy Awards, to be held on Saturday 21 September, were announced at this morning’s full school assembly. With the depth of talent and enthusiasm constantly displayed by the Sheldon College Arts students, it makes choosing only five nominees per category a tremendously difficult task. The final award recipients will be acknowledged and celebrated during this year’s Arts Academy Awards event.

Those students who received a nomination will now have the opportunity to either perform or to submit their work to a qualified judging panel. This panel is inclusive of a direct Industry Expert in the relevant field, in addition to several Arts employees. 

The nominees for the following categories are;

Technical Producer of the Year
Isabella Lee 
Rory Masterson
Sinead McBrien
Callum Moore
Grace Newlands

Director of the Year
Benjamin Chuc
Jessica Childs
Clara MacGregor
Lachlan Margetts
Alexandra Wishart

2D Multi-Media Artist of the Year
Jessica Childs
Rachel Lawie
Stephanie Matthews
Josephine Sok
Phoebe Vallance

Interdisciplinary Media Artisit of the Year
Abbey Brookes
Madison De Luca
Catalina Meldrum
Gracie McClintock
Maya Peters

Classical Instrumentalist of the Year
Richard Bahrett for Violin
Scott Chamberlain for Clarinet
Zijian Gong for Piano
Hannah James for Percussion
Alice Wilson for Flute

Contemporary Instrumentalist of the Year
Mikayla Farnsworth-Sempf for Guitar
Bence Major for Trombone
Jenna Rainbird for Percussion
Thomas Sultana for Saxophone
Corey Truss for Electric Bass

Dancer of the Year
April Beak
Natalia Hines
Lauren Nichols
Jenna Rainbird
Jessica Thomsen

Actor of the Year
Quinn Chambers
Danyal Fayad
Jean-Luc Fuller
Keaydan Pham
Ethan Schofield

Actress of the Year
April Beak
Kyla Johnson
Darcey Robertson
Ellen Warner
Mikayla Yates

Female Vocalist of the Year
April Beak
Crispin Swartz
Ellen Warner
Lara Wilson
Mikayla Yates

Male Vocalists of the Year
Lachlan Alcorn
Jean-Luc Fuller
Exodus Lale
Joseph O’Byrne
Ethan Schofield

Best Emerging Artist of the Year
Angelina Bourke for Musical Theatre
Anton Bull for Musical Theatre
Priya Maxwell for Dance
Imogen Parker for Trumpet
Timothy Vernon for Film, Television and New Media

Sheldon College extends a heartfelt congratulations to each of the nominees and wishes them the best of luck with the judging process. Even just being named as a nominee is an outstanding achievement within itself.